Frozen in Thought

20140128-015740.jpg

It’s cold here. I’ll spare you the mundane details about wind chill & frost bite warnings & just tell you: it’s so cold the only thing you really want to do is sit inside in your warmest sweater and think.

And so tonight I thunk.

I thought about culture, mainly about viewing Christianity as mainstream culture views it & then as I know it. And here’s my conclusion:

Christianity isn’t hard until the moment I have to come face to face with my own failures. No one wants to do that, but this is a crucial moment for a Christian. Sometimes sin seems unfair. I am born, I am seemingly wired with certain weaknesses, & I am punished for this? And then there’s the matter of comparing sin. This seems bad but it’s not a sin and this over here seems harmless but it is a sin. My humanity can’t fathom this quandary. But you know what? It doesn’t matter if what is sin and what isn’t sin feels unfair. That’s not the point. What matters is whether or not I value and trust God above everything. If I value Him above all, I am willing to give up anything to honor Him. Even if it isn’t necessarily a bad thing. If I think about life that way first, then the Christian life does not feel like a series of do’s and don’ts. It feels like something valuable, something to be treasured. A precious and infinitely wise friend to love and respect and trust and be in awe of rather than a distant god-creature who is only ever disappointed in my shortcomings. That’s not who He is. Who He is is love. And love is patient, kind, and it isn’t arrogant or rude. It’s not irritable or resentful, and it doesn’t rejoice in wrongdoing but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, and endures all things – because it never ends. He never ends. My rock, my life, my all. Who hems me in, behind and before.

It doesn’t matter if what is sin and what isn’t sin feels unfair. What matters is whether or not I value and trust God above everything.

The rest falls into place.

For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known.—1 Corinthians 13:12

Leave a Reply

