Pieces of my Heart

My heart continues to leave pieces of itself behind in different places in this world.

I am happy to have so many wonderful connections to so many other hearts, but sad that they are all so far apart.

This day I long for: Luke 13:29 “And people will come from east and west, and from north and south, and recline at table in the kingdom of God.”

In the meantime, here are some of the places my heart has left itself.

ImageWorld or Land, a childhood revisited.

Image

Endlessly thankful.

Image

My Irish soul longs to go back.

Image

A beautiful friend.

Image

Wonderful friends. Mountains. Coffee to DIE FOR. And a kindred spirit.

Image

Home.

Lord Huron, take it away:

I wanna live in a land of lakes
Where the great waves break
And the night runs right into the day
I wanna be with the ones I left
But I’m way out west
And the years keep on slipping away
I wanna run on the sacred dunes
Through the ancient ruins
Where the fires of my ancestors burned
I remember that fateful day
When I ran away
And you told me I couldn’t return

You made me swear I’d never forget
I made a vow I’d see you again
I will be back one day, and I’ll find you
There by the great big lake

I been running a long, long time
Trying to flee that life
But I can’t seem to leave it behind
Wanna visit the windswept shores
Of a time before
When the moon and the stars were aligned
I remember the bright spring day
When you sparked that flame
And a fire that continues to burn
I remember the day I left
Headin’ way out west
When you told me to never return

You made me swear I’d never forget
I made a vow I’d see you again
I will be back one day, and I’ll find you
There by the great big lake
I will be back one day, and I’ll find you
There by the great big lake

One thought on “Pieces of my Heart

  1. Diane Dahlen says:

    Beautifully said. I understand as I also have left pieces of my heart in many places. A big piece is already in heaven.

Leave a Reply

