My Name is Katie Dugan

My name is Katie Dugan. I am twenty-three years old. I live in the United States of America. I became a Christian when I was seven years old. I am a sinner. And I am weak. Every day I battle. Most days I fail. I try and try, but I am not enough. My name is Katie Dugan, and Jesus loves me. He saw me being knit together in my mother’s womb. He knew me before time was created. Jesus is God – yes, God became one of us. And because He loves me, He put Himself between me and His just wrath. My name is Katie Dugan and I deserve to die for my sin. However, Jesus interceded. Jesus died on my behalf. Yes, He died on behalf of all. It is important for me to think of myself specifically, so that I can begin to fully grasp how much He loves me. When Jesus let out His final cry, and when he breathed His last – when His heart stopped beating and the curtain tore – my sin, not yet committed, was BROKEN. Shattered. No longer was sin to have any power over my heart which belongs to Christ Jesus. My name is Katie Dugan, and Jesus died for me because of His great love for me, which I do not yet fully grasp or understand. My name is Katie Dugan, and my God is great. My God is so great that He took the teeth out of the serpent so that no longer could temptation and sin pierce me. My name is Katie Dugan, and the love of Jesus Christ, the Lord my God, is all I have ever and will ever need, because in HIM are ALL THINGS. And He is with me. Even to the end of the age.

“And know that Jesus Christ Himself is all you need, in death & resurrection, to cleanse & fill you, & hear Him say, ‘Thus saith the Lord, I have healed these waters; there shall not be from thence any more death or barren land. (2 Kings 2:21)'”

“He not only reconciles you to God by His death, but He saves you moment by moment by His life; that is to say, He died not only for what you have done, but He rose again to live in you, to take the place of what you are. His strength for your weakness! His wisdom for your folly! His drive for your drift! His grace for your greed! His love for your lust! His peace for your problems! His joy for your sorrow! His plenty for your poverty!”

— Major Ian Thomas, The Saving Life of Christ

Leave a Reply

