2008: A Year in Review

Fear not! This (though the title of this blog contradicts it) will not be a sentimental post about my hearts journey throughout the year. Rather, it will be a reflection on, if I dare say it, WORLDLY things. Material stuffs, movies, music, politicians, books, people & places that entertained/disgusted/invigorated/amused and in any case intrigued me. They will go in no particular order & who knows how many there will be. I will write & review as they come to my mind. Beginning…

…now!

  • She & Him : This album came out in March of 2008 & pretty much made my, well, year. I had always hoped Zooey Deschanel (She) would make an album. One day I googled “Zooey Deschanel” & alas! Up popped the myspace page for She & Him. I listened to the only single there (Why Do You Let Me Stay Here) & absolutely adored it. Not only has this music lifted my spirits in quieter, bleaker moments of this year but it introduced me to the like of M. Ward (Him), Becky Stark (of Lavender Diamond), & various other “indie” artists who I would otherwise have never thought to listen to. I got to see them live at First Ave & will never forget that show: best of my life! (So far.)
  • Barack Obama: Not a fan.
  • Sarah Palin: I am a fan. And although I think there was probably a better person for the job, I would most definitely have taken her over what we ended up with. She definitely added some “zing” to the campaign & made me realize how much I really don’t like Tina Fey…(More on this hopefully in another blog post to come.)
  • The Twilight Saga: This series captured my attention, I tell you! I hadn’t been so enthralled with a book(s) since Harry Potter (an unfortunate comparison that must be made, though nothing in the two series are even remotely similar). There is so much controversy surrounding this saga in the Christian world it make me laugh. I’ve given up fighting because, honestly folks, it’s a story. And if you read The Chronicles of Narnia not knowing who wrote it many of you would be trying to burn piles of The Lion the Witch & the Wardrobe. (End of rant) I love the love story in this book. It’s like Jane Austen with vampires…OK, that sounds weird. But they were fun stories to read & I enjoyed the movie adaptation very much indeed!
  • Television: A few new shows caught my interest this year. Luckily they are all either short lived, or the seasons only consist of a few episodes, so TV doesn’t take up too much of my time…
  1. Pushing Daisies: This was my absolute favorite show this year. Unfortunately it was canceled. I hope the story continues in some fashion so I know what happens between my dear Pie Maker & his love Chuck (Chuck being short for Charlotte Charles.)
  2. It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia: There is only on way to describe this show-ridiculously funny. Seriously, ridiculous. Too crude at times – too funny at others.
  3. Bones: These are obviously new television discoveries to me & me alone. This show can be a little too-true-to-life, but the mysteries are always fun & new. Coincidently this show stars Emily Deschanel, sister of Zooey. Wow, I really sounds like I stalk this family.
  • Movies: I saw several movies that I really enjoyed this year. And only a couple I didn’t enjoy:
  1. Indiana Jones & the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull: 8/10 stars! I enjoyed this one very much. Shia LaBeouf  & Harrison Ford make a very cool duo & although the plot was “out here ” (literally) I followed it & found it fit in with the other movies.
  2. The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian: 9/10 stars! Although the makers of these movies have no idea what they are talking about (Aslan represents nature? What?) they somehow seem to end up with a nearly flawless representation of the books. Though the film sadly does not follow the book specifically, it most definitely captures the feeling & atmosphere you get while reading. My one true & real objection was the kiss between Susan and Caspian at the end. (Shudder)
  3. The Happening: 4/10 stars…? Zooey Deschanel (as you may already know) is my all-time favorite actress. Mark Wahlberg is decent. M. Night Shyamalan is a fantastic director/writer. But…trees? Really?
  4. Wall•E: 9/10 stars! So beautifully crafted.
  5. Batman: The Dark Knight: 9/10 stars! Personally, I wouldn’t call this the best movie of all time. But that sure as heck don’t mean it isn’t a fantastically good flick!
  6. Ghost Town: 7/10 stars! Ricky Gervais + Greg Kinnear = comic magic.
  7. James Bond: Quantom of Solace: 5/10 stars! It was OK.
  8. Twilight: 8/10 stars! Oh for crying out loud, you know what I think!
  • Adventure: I am going there in the Spring of 09. This was a huge leap of a decision for me to make this year. I took a couple of months to chew it over before mentioning it to a single soul. Then someone else brought up that someone else I knew very well was going, & the dreams evolved into plans. I am thankful/terrified/anxious/ and thoroughly excited for this journey!
  • Karl Pilkington: That is all.
  • Jane Austen: As silly as it sounds this year started & ended with my thoughts mainly on which Jane Austen novel I am living in. Unrealistic? Possibly. Fun? Definitely. ITV made a new batch of Austen adaptations that aired on PBS’ masterpiece theatre in the first few Winter months of this year. I bought all of them but one, which I received for Christmas last week. My collection is now complete & my heart is full of words such as, “felicity”, “odious”, “amiable”, “vex”, & of course, “Darcy“.

As sad as it sounds, that’s about all I can think of when I review 2008! (On material things of course…matters of the heart is, well, another matter.)

One thought on “2008: A Year in Review

  1. coffee says:

    i wonder what will be more successful/popular in the long run, Twilight or Harry Potter

Leave a Reply

